How To Unpublish Wix Site

We can all make mistakes and sometimes, we want to fix them. When we’re using Wix, we might decide that we want to unpublish a site – but we’re going to need to know how we go about doing that.

How To Unpublish Wix Site

This guide will show you how easy it is to unpublish your Wix site and some other handy tips for you to bear in mind.

So, let’s get into it.

What Does It Mean To Unpublish Your Wix Site?

When you publish a website on Wix, the site gets added to Wix’s database of sites. This means that if someone visits your site from another device or browser, they’ll be able to see your site. If you’ve published your site, then you probably want people to be able to visit it too!

However, there are times when you may not want people to be able to access your site. Maybe you’ve got an important announcement that you don’t want everyone to find out about.

Or maybe you just want to keep your site private until you’re ready to share it with the world. In these cases, you can unpublish your site.

Unpublishing a site removes it from Wix’s database so no one else can view it anymore. You can still edit the content of this page, but you won’t be able to change its settings.

How Do You Unpublish Your Wix Site?

To unpublish a site, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Wix dashboard.
  2. Click on Sites.
  3. Find the site you’d like to unpublish.
  4. Click on the “Edit” button next to the site name.
  5. Scroll down to the bottom of the Edit page and click on the “Delete” link.
  6. Enter any comments you’d like to add before clicking on the Publish button.
  7. Click on the Publish button at the top right-hand side of the screen.

That’s it! Now, your site has been deleted from Wix’s database and no one else can see it anymore.

Can I Undelete My Wix Site?

Yes! If you accidentally delete a site, you can always undelete it by following these steps:

  1. Go back to the Wix dashboard and click on Sites.
  2. Find your site again.
  3. Click on the “Undelete” button next to the name of the site.
  4. Enter any comments you’d like before clicking on the Publish button.
  5. Click on the Publish button to save your changes.

Now, your site is once again available to be viewed by anyone who wants to.

Why Would I Want To Delete A Site From Wix?

If you’ve made a mistake while publishing your site, you might think it’s best to delete it from Wix. You may have decided that you didn’t want to include certain pages or features.

For example, maybe you’ve included a page that you realize isn’t very relevant to your business. Or maybe you’ve included a feature that you think doesn’t really work well.

Whatever the reason, you can easily remove those pages or features from your site.

If you do decide to delete a page or feature, you’ll need to first go through the process of unpublishing your site as explained above. Once you’ve done that, you can simply go back to the Wix Dashboard and select the page or feature that you want to delete.

Click on the “Delete” button next to the page or feature. Enter any comments you’d like and click on the Publish button. Then, you can either leave the page or feature unpublished (which will prevent other users from viewing it) or you can make sure that it’s visible to other users.

You can also use the same method to remove a feature from your site. Just remember that if you choose to remove a feature, you’ll lose all the functionality that comes along with it. So, you should only do this if you’re absolutely sure that you don’t want to use that particular feature.

What Happens When I Unpublish A Site?

When you publish a site, Wix creates a new version of the site for each user who views the site. This means that every time someone visits your site, they get their own copy of the site. The original site remains unchanged.

When you unpublish a site though, there are two things that happen. First, Wix deletes the original site from its database. Second, it updates the URL for the site to point to the newly created empty site.

The end result is that when you unpublish a website, everyone gets a fresh, clean site.

Is There Any Way To Remove Pages And Features That Are Already Published?

Unfortunately, there’s not an easy way to remove pages and features that are already published. However, you can still change the visibility settings for those pages and features so that they aren’t visible to others.

To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Wix dashboard.
  2. Click on the “Sites” tab.
  3. Find your site in the list of sites.
  4. Select the “Site Settings” link under the “Edit” column.
  5. Scroll down until you see the section titled “Visibility”.
  6. Change the setting to “Private”.

Once you’ve set the visibility settings for your site, other users should not be able to view the site anymore.

Why Does My Site Keep Disappearing After I Publish It?

Wix has a built-in system called “Auto-Publish,” which automatically publishes your site whenever you save changes to it. If you’ve been working on your site and then suddenly notice that it’s gone, chances are good that Auto-Publish did what it was supposed to do.

However, if you keep getting errors after publishing your site, it could mean that something went wrong during the publishing process. In that case, you may have to contact Wix’s support team.

Can I Make Changes To My Site After Publishing It?

Yes! You can always edit your site at any time. Simply log into your account and find the site that you want to update. Click on the “Edit” icon next to the site name and make your changes.

The Bottom Line

Unpublishing a site from Wix is easy as pie, simply follow the instructions we’ve listed, and you’re good to go!

Matthew Jacobs
Latest posts by Matthew Jacobs (see all)